Case Study EAO

Digital 3D configurator for EMERGENCY STOP buttons

  • Swiss family business founded in 1947
  • Leading global manufacturer of keys, keypads, control elements, HMI control units and HMI systems
  • Over 600 dedicated employees
  • Worldwide production and sales network

Unique solution: intelligent, digital product configurator

In an interdisciplinary collaboration between Eyekon (frontend) and Intelliact's product data specialists (backend), an intelligent, digital EMERGENCY STOP configurator has been created - an interactive, photo-realistic 3D tool that helps engineers and designers configure modular products according to their personal needs and in an intuitive way.

"EAO's solution beautifully demonstrates how networked product data can be used to create value for customers," said Patrick Henseler, Senior Consultant and Managing Director at Intelliact.

Challenge: selling configurable products with interchangeable components via distributors

EAO manufactures highly complex human machine interfaces (HMI) such as control elements for cockpits, door openers or emergency stop buttons. The company wants to guarantee customers short delivery times worldwide and therefore sells its own products through brand-leading distributors. However, in order to be able to present the best possible solution for customers with the corresponding components, expert knowledge is required, which was previously not possible via the various distribution channels. This is because EAO's globally certified E-STOP buttons have to meet specific requirements in various industries: They consist of several components that can be configured in a wide variety of ways - which in the past could lead to uncertainty when selecting products.

Implemented: from networked product data to an intelligent, digital product configurator

To improve the customer experience, the intelligent, digital EMERGENCY STOP configurator was developed. It provides access to more than 130 components and accessories that can be individually combined to create more than 2,000 different customised combinations.

Together, Intelliact, Eyekon and EAO defined the product data required for the customer journey and how it could be used and linked from the company systems. This was because redundant, isolated data storage was to be avoided for the catalogue.

Today, the photo-realistic product images are created automatically on the basis of the CAD data. This eliminates the need for time-consuming photographing or re-modelling of products.

The implementation and integration of the Smart Sales concept was realised in cooperation with Eyekon. In recent years, they have implemented several Smart Sales projects.

Configurator for EMERGENCY STOP buttons
Configurator for EMERGENCY STOP buttons
Benefits for EAO and customers

Quickly and efficiently to the right product

To prevent incorrect orders, the system only suggests compatible components. In this way, customers find the right product as quickly and efficiently as possible - thanks to networked product data across their master systems (PIM, PDM, ERP) and also thanks to a responsive user interface both via desktop PCs and mobile devices.

To enhance the customer experience, all components and product configurations are rendered as photo-realistic 3D images on a server and visualised in real-time. In an automated process, remarkable performance is achieved without compromising on detail: Different material properties, such as surface texture or light reflection, exactly reflect their real-life counterparts.

The product experience is deepened even further in various "Experience Views", in which the appearance of the product can be rotated, mounted on a measuring grid, or simulated in the dark.

Target analysis of the customer journey towards a smart sales process:

  • Customers are efficiently supported in the selection and configuration of products
  • Customers can carry out product selection and configuration independently and fully. On the one hand, this increases customer satisfaction and, on the other hand, reduces the internal effort required for consultation.
  • The networking of products with integration of CAD data for product images significantly reduces internal maintenance efforts and additionally improves the customer experience
  • Data links enable intelligent recommendations: suitable accessories are displayed for each component or configuration



Do you also want to digitalise your sales process?

Do you have any questions?

Case Study EAO

Digitaler 3D-Konfigurator für NOT-HALT Tasten

  • 1947 gegründetes Schweizer Familienunternehmen
  • Weltweit führender Hersteller von Tasten, Tastaturen, Bedienelementen, HMI Bedieneinheiten und HMI Systemen
  • Über 600 engagierten Mitarbeitende
  • Weltweites Produktions- und Vertriebsnetz

Einzigartige Lösung: intelligenter, digitaler Produktkonfigurator

In interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit zwischen Eyekon (Frontend) und den Produktdaten-Spezialisten von Intelliact (Backend) ist ein intelligenter, digitaler NOT-HALT Konfigurator entstanden – ein interaktives, fotorealistisches 3D-Tool, das Ingenieuren und Designern dabei hilft, nach ihrem persönlichen Bedarf und auf intuitive Weise modulare Produkte zu konfigurieren.

«Die Lösung von EAO zeigt sehr schön auf, wie mit vernetzten Produktdaten für den Kunden Mehrwert geschaffen werden kann», so Patrick Henseler, Senior Consultant und Geschäftsführer bei Intelliact.

Herausforderung: konfigurierbare Produkte mit austauschbaren Komponenten über Distributoren vertreiben

EAO stellt hochkomplexe Human Machine Interfaces (HMI) her wie z. B. Bedienelemente für Cockpits, Türöffner oder Not-Halt-Tasten. Das Unternehmen möchte Kunden global kurze Lieferzeiten garantieren und vertreibt eigene Produkte deshalb über markführende Distributoren. Doch um für Kunden die bestmögliche Lösung mit den dazugehörigen Komponenten präsentieren zu können, ist Expertenwissen erforderlich, was bisher über die verschiedenen Distsributionskanäle nicht möglich war. Denn die weltweit zertifizierten NOT-HALT Tasten von EAO müssen in diversen Industrien spezifische Anforderungen erfüllen: Sie bestehen aus mehreren Komponenten, die auf verschiedenste Arten konfigurierbar sind – was in der Vergangenheit bei der Produktauswahl zu Unsicherheiten führen konnte.

Umgesetzt: von vernetzten Produktdaten zum intelligenten, digitalen Produktkonfigurator

Zur Verbesserung des Kundenerlebnisses wurde der intelligente, digitale NOT-HALT-Konfigurator entwickelt. Er bietet Zugang zu mehr als 130 Komponenten und Zubehörteilen, die individuell zusammengestellt mehr als 2.000 verschiedene kundenspezifische Kombinationen ergeben.

Gemeinsam definierten Intelliact, Eyekon sowie EAO die für die Customer Journey notwendigen Produktdaten und wie sie aus den Unternehmenssystemen verwendet und verlinkt werden konnten. Denn eine redundante, isolierte Datenhaltung sollte für den Katalog vermieden werden.

Die fotorealistischen Produktbilder werden heute automatisch auf Basis der CAD-Daten erstellt. Damit entfällt das aufwändige Fotografieren oder Nachmodellieren von Produkten.

Die Umsetzung und Integration des Smart-Sales-Konzeptes wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Eyekon realisiert. In den letzten Jahren setzten sie etliche Smart-Sales-Projekte um.

Konfigurator für NOT‑HALT Tasten
Konfigurator für NOT‑HALT Tasten
Nutzen für EAO und Kunden

Schnell und effizient zum richtigen Produkt

Um Fehlbestellungen zu verhindern, schlägt das System jeweils nur kompatible Komponenten vor. So gelangen Kunden möglichst schnell und effizient zum richtigen Produkt – dank vernetzter Produktdaten über ihre Stammsysteme (PIM, PDM, ERP) hinweg vernetzt und auch dank responsiver Benutzeroberfläche sowohl über Desktop-PCs, als auch über mobile Geräte.

Zur Steigerung der Erlebbarkeit für die Kunden werden sämtliche Komponenten und Produktkonfigurationen als fotorealistische 3D-Abbildungen serverbasiert gerendert und in Echtzeit visualisiert. In einem automatisierten Prozess wird dabei eine bemerkenswerte Performance erreicht, ohne Abstriche bei der Detailtreue zu machen: Verschiedene Materialeigenschaften, die sich etwa in Oberflächenbeschaffenheit oder Lichtreflexion zeigen, widerspiegeln exakt ihre realen Pendants.

Noch weiter vertieft wird das Produkterlebnis in verschiedenen «Experience Views», bei denen das Aussehen des Produkts rotierend, auf einem Messraster montiert oder bei Dunkelheit simuliert werden kann.

Zielführend ist eine Analyse der Customer Journey hin zu einem Smart-Sales-Prozess:

  • Kunden werden bei der Auswahl und Konfiguration der Produkte effizient unterstützt
  • Kunden können die Produkt-Selektion und Konfiguration selbständig und vollumfänglich vornehmen. Dadurch werden zum einen die Kundenzufriedenheit erhöht und zum anderen die internen Aufwände für die Beratung reduziert
  • Die Vernetzung von Produkten mit einer Integration der CAD-Daten für Produktbilder reduziert die internen Pflegeaufwände wesentlich und verbessert das Kundenerlebnis zusätzlich
  • Datenverknüpfungen ermöglichen intelligente Empfehlungen: für jede Komponente oder Konfiguration wird passendes Zubehör angezeigt



Möchten auch Sie Ihren Verkaufsprozess digitalisieren?

Kontaktieren Sie Uwe Leonhardt
Wie können wir Ihnen helfen?
Auf dem Laufenden bleiben!